Annual General Meeting

OCA's Annual General Meeting provides our membership with an opportunity to practice their democratic rights, have a voice, participate in learning and professional development opportunities and network with other co-operative organizations within our membership. 

This year's AGM is scheduled for September 22, 2020 and will take place virtually, in order to protect the health and well-being of our members. 

This is a FREE event but pre-registration is required. Registration is now open online.

Only Member-Owners are eligible to vote in the election, on motions and on resolutions. If you are a Member-Owner, please complete the Delegate Form and return it to Jennifer at [email protected] by September 20, 2020.

AGM Package and Information



This year's AGM will include an election to the Board of Directors, as we have two vacant seats available:

  • One (1) Director-at-Large seats (three-year term)
  • One (1) Youth Director seat (one-year term)

The deadline to submit nominations before the AGM is now closed, however, we accept nominations from the floor during the AGM. 


Last year's AGM took place on Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at the Springfield Golf and Country Club. Scroll down to learn what happend!




OCA celebrated Co-op Week with its members at its Annual General Meeting on October 15. About 60 members gathered at the Springfield Golf & Country Club in Guelph ON, to learn about our accomplishments and challenges over the past fiscal year, elect a new board, say goodbye to our retiring board members, and approve an amendment to a Bylaw.

We are very pleased to welcome our new Board, who 
elected Maureen Gillespie as Chair, Jennifer Woodhouse as Vice-Chair and Secretary, and Sally Miller as Treasurer. Chris Caners, Jordan Moat and Megan Shipton were all newly elected to the Board – and we look forward to working with all of you in the weeks and months ahead!

We also said goodbye to three directors, Michelle Vieira (former Vice-Chair), Crystal McNerney (former Secretary), and Laura Toombs (former Youth Director), and thanked them for their years of dedication and contribution to the OCA Board. In lieu of gifts, a donation to the Co-operative Development Foundation of Canada was made in their names.

The membership also approved a proposed change to the Bylaw by the Governance and Membership Committee, to article 3.02 - Members Rights and Responsibilities. The newly amended Bylaw removed the reviewing and commenting on the annual budget, and reviewing and commenting on long-term planning documents from the memberships’ responsibilities, as these items are operational and not the responsibility of the membership, but that of the Board of Directors.

Following the AGM and a short networking break, members participated in a Government Relations presentation and discussion. Erin Morgan, Executive Director, shared the OCA's GR Priorities with the membership, and Michael Ras, Director of Government and Stakeholder Relations with Meridian Credit Union, shared a briefing on the GR Efforts of the Ontario Credit Union sector.